top of page
  • Luciana Petrossian

Maddie North - Celebrity hair and make-up artist


New Zealand Native, Celebrity HMUA Maddie North has worked in Los Angeles for a few years now, and she's making strides. Her skills have opened up doors to such celebs as Lorde, Kate Nash, Lykke Li, Eve, Hozier, Of Monsters And Men, Broods, Big Boi, and The Naked And Famous. Her work can be seen on the pages of Playboy, Schon, Lucy Mag, Darling Mag, and Contents Mag. And things are only looking up for this influential HMUA and we can't wait to see where her career takes her!

Hi Maddie, can you please start by introducing yourself and telling us a little about your upbringing?

Im originally from New Zealand where I studied hair and makeup, and now work in Los Angeles CA :)

How did your career begin in the beauty industry and what made you decide to become a hair and makeup artist?

photo by Larsen Sotelo

A friend convinced me to do the hair and makeup course with her and I was surprised to find I had a real passion for it! I also had a lot of musician friends who then were getting me to do their music videos and press photos, it was such a fun experience being behind the camera!

Wilhelmina is one of the most prominent talent management agencies in the world. How has being represented by them changed your career?

It was always a huge goal of mine to be agency signed. In many ways it just elevates you to the next level so you can reach those bigger clients, celebrities, magazines etc with the agency's support behind you.

What advice would you give to other makeup artists aspiring to be represented by a reputable agency?

Have a strong portfolio you're proud of. Shoot as much as possible so you can get the best images to show your best work, thats key!

What has been the highlight of your career so far?

I went to Alcopulco last year to shoot the cover of Playboy, that was so amazing and the location was incredible.

How do you stay inspired and keep working consistently to such a high level?

What helps me stay inspired is doing beauty editorials whenever I can. Its great because you get to be creative and different, and it helps me to remember that makeup isn't always just a job, its can be fun too!

What would you say is your signature look?

My favourite look to do is very dewy natural looking makeup. I love keeping the skin clean and fresh but just elevating it.

What is your top pro tip and favourite go to product(s)?

I always say the most important thing with makeup is to moisturize! In saying that I love Murad products, they have fantastic moisturizers

You’ve had an incredible career so far and your portfolio is very impressive, what’s next?

I would love to shoot for Vogue, I haven't yet so its definitely a goal for me.

See more of Maddie's work:

58 views0 comments
bottom of page